Just checking in…..I missed this couch

Well, it’s happened again. It’s been far too long since I have sat down and written in this blog. The jacked up thing is I think about writing all the time, but never seem to sit down to get stuff off my chest, and out of this crazy head of mine, lol.

So yeah, the last time I wrote I was dealing with the recent loss of my horrible job, and taking it rather well, if I do say so myself. I had made some big discoveries within myself while out of work; like finding some direction after much thought and prayer. I’m happy to announce that since that time I did find work again. In fact, I had a pretty awesome stroke of luck. Pretty quickly after being let go from the hell-hole job I was previously at, I received an offer to be a Store Manager in Training for Game Stop. For anyone who knows me personally knows this was an opportunity right up my alley, as I love, love, love video games.

While the job was back in retail, which is something I never wanted to do again, I could not pass up the opportunity to return to work. I just don’t have it like that; plus beggars can’t be choosers. Working at Game Stop was pretty cool; I worked with some really cool people, plus I got an awesome discount.

You’re probably wondering why I’m talking about Game Stop in the past tense, seeing how it was only back in May when I started working there. Well, shortly after I started with Game Stop (and I knew this would happen, lol) I received a call from a company that I had applied with that was on my desired career path. They expressed a lot of interest in me joining their company. I was pretty torn on what to do. Game Stop had been so good to me, and the guy who was my boss was (and is) super cool, but I felt like I couldn’t pass up this opportunity. So, I ended up joining the second job, and in true awesome form, my former boss at Game Stop was so supportive and super excited for me.

So here I am, at a job I am really enjoying, plus it’s on the path I was looking for. I feel truly blessed, not to mention lucky (lol) to have had such a quick recovery from my job loss. I can’t help but think of all those out there who have been out of work for months, even years now. I am not taking anything for granted on this one man!

As exciting as all the job news is, it’s not even the best/craziest part of the story. Two weeks after being hired on with Game Stop, the Wife and I got some wonderful news……we’re going to have a baby! Well, technically, the Wife is “having” the baby….but you get my drift, lol.

This has to be one of the Top 3 greatest moments of my life, more like Top 2. When the Wife told me she was pregnant she nearly gave me a heart-attack. She woke me up out of a dead sleep at 6 o’clock in the morning holding the test, all frantic and crying saying “You’re going to be a dad!” The Wife has a knack for stuff like that, lol. This is the same woman that when I surprised her and proposed 3 years ago broke out in tears right after screaming “OH SHIT!!” when she saw the ring.

It was such an awesome moment. We just stood there both crying and holding each other. I felt like in that moment time was standing still and we were the only two people in the whole world. I felt the same way on our wedding day when we were saying our vows to one another (my other Top Moment).

I never thought I could feel this way, but it’s crazy; it feels like my whole world has shifted. The little Nugget (as we are referring to it at the moment) isn’t even here yet and I am already thinking about them 24/7. For the first couple of weeks I don’t think it really set in. I mean, I knew we were having a baby, but I didn’t “feel” any different. It wasn’t until recently when the Wife and I went in to do some routine baby tests, which included a sonogram of the Nugget. When I saw my unborn child on the screen, no bigger than a peach (according to the baby websites, lol), moving around, it just hit me like a ton of bricks. Holy shit, I’m going to be a dad!!! I’m going to be somebody’s parent.

It was like a rush of anxiety and joy hit me at the same time. I am going to be responsible for the care and welfare of a child very soon, and in this world today, there is a lot to be scared about. This world is a pretty scary place. Hell, half the time I feel nervous about interacting with all the crazy-crazys out there; now I have to worry about keeping the Nugget safe too.

And, it’s not like the deck isn’t already stacked against me or anything (that was sarcasm). I got so much damn family baggage (a lot of it involving mental issues) that I worry about that too. The last thing I want is my Nugget to feel or experience even an ounce of the crap, and just outright craziness I had to see as a child.

Anyway, I think that’s it for this session. Sorry for the short post, I just wanted to check in here, and let my few readers know I’m still around, and give you a quick update on what’s been going on in my life.

Be talkin’ to you real soon. Until our next session…peace out!!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

