San Diego Vacation Blog Day #3: Now it’s a Party!!

Well, it looks like I’m flying solo today. The Wife has to actually do some work today. See, this trip is not only for vacation; well, it is for me, but the Wife is out in San Diego for business too. Luckily it’s only for today.

The Wife actually has a job where she does “good” work, and helps people. Unlike my job, which is based solely on consumerism and get production of the backs of their under-paid and mistreated employees. The Wife is a Program Officer for AIDS United. They help other organization run programs for AIDS prevention and care. See…..doing good things for people. Anyway, she’s off to see one of her programs today, and to see how they are coming along, yada yada and all that stuff. Me on the other hand, I’m stuck without a car, in a hotel in the middle of Mission Valley. But hey, it could be worse, I could be on the East Coast still, lol.

I can’t really complain because even though I am stuck in a hotel room, I have an awesome view of the city, the weather is absolutely gorgeous, and I’m enjoying a free breakfast from the hotel. As I said on my Facebook status while all this was going on, “Can life get any better? I say nay, it cannot.” Some of you might have seen that post and while you’re reading this you may find yourself thinking, “Hey, that was a post from yesterday.” Well, see, even though I say things like “today” and “now” in these blogs, realize I am writing these blogs at least 24 hours after all the events happen. I take notes throughout the day, then organize my thoughts, and bang out a blog a day later. Just a little FYI for those reading. Now, on with the story.

Anyway, seeing how I’m stuck sitting around by myself, I think it’s time to party! Sorry, let me correct that statement….It’s time to “hang out with” The Party!! That’s Mark “The Party” Pardo everybody. The man, the myth, the legend. Mark has been my best friend for going on 15 years now. We met up in our senior year in high school when I asked him for a ride home since we both got to leave after lunch. Where he thought this would be a one-time thing, I kept showing up day after day looking for that ride, and like a bad case of athletes foot, he couldn’t get rid of me after that. But, I would throw some money his way for gas and stuff, so that kept him quiet. He was like my little ride-hooker. He was the Julia Roberts to my Richard Gere….you do the math, lol.

I haven’t seen Mark since my wedding almost 2 years ago. The same story I told about Andy….plus they just happen to be brothers. Mark and I have been through everything together. To quote the sketch “I’m Chillin” from the great Saturday Night Live cast of the 90’s, “He’s my main man, my Toucan Sam, my can of Spam, his name ain’t Pam.” As I said, Mark and I have done it all and seen it all, and after 15 years of friendship I can honestly say Mark as never changed. He’s the same good guy I’ve always know. A real “give the shirt off his back for a friend” kind of guy, and that’s why I love the guy.
Alright, enough of the mushy shit, on to business. I picked up the cell phone called Mark around 11-ish, and like usual, the conversation went something like this:

Mark: (without even saying “hello”) What the hell do you want?
Me: Come over here and pick me up before I find you and beat the shit out of you!
Mark: Alright, I’ll be right there.

See, that’s how we talk to each other. Like friend do….well, guy friends that is. Mark arrived about an hour later, like the lazy ass he is. After we exchanged pleasantries I greeted him like I normally would; by telling him he took his sweet-ass time, and he returned with his normal response; telling me to be F-ing grateful he even came and picked my sorry ass up. And like that, we were off and running like old times.

We decided to go get our grub on since we were both starving. I inquired as to where he was driving us for lunch, and I to say I was pleased with the response would be an understatement. Mark said, “Come one man. You know what it is, we’re going to Cotijas.” Yes, finally, I was mere minutes away from enjoying the greatest Mexican food on the planet. It had been so long since I was able to get even decent Mexican food. Living in Washington D.C. you can’t find good Mexican food. And I’m not talking about good restaurant style Mexican food. I’m talking about that bad Mexican food that is so good.
My mouth began to water like I had been crawling in the desert for years with no water. One problem; we had to basically go into the “lion’s den” to get it. The only Cotijas around our hood is in Lemon Grove. The part of town my crazy-ass family lives in. To be more specific, my crazy-ass Mom. Even more dangerous, Cotijas is about 100 feet from where she lives too. I was just really hoping she didn’t come walking by, or be somewhere where she would spot me and cause problems. Not talking to someone for almost 5 years can do crazy things to them.

But, luck was on our side this day. I credit to having the awesomeness that is The Party with me. Magical things just happen when he’s around. I don’t know, maybe his awesomeness created a force field and we were able to move undetected by the forces of evil that lurked nearby. At least that’s the way I like to look at it, lol.
I ordered my 5 rolled tacos combination plate, got my soda, and we rolled out. We headed back to Andy’s pad to enjoy our lunch. It was like old times. We ate our food, talked shit to one another, quoted a bunch of movies and watched a classic movie on TV while we ate; Commando!!

After a while Steph was back from work. So we headed over to the hotel to scoop up the Wife, and then head back over to Andy’s because his awesome girlfriend Sara was hosting all of us for dinner that night. And let me tell you, dinner was the business yo!! Sara is a bomb cook. She made all of us stuffed shells and garlic bread, and the for dessert, fresh strawberry pie. Yeah money!!

After dinner Andy introduced me to the world of Kinect from Xbox 360. I have to admit, it was pretty fun. Although I felt like an idiot the whole time, and my body is soar. But other than that, It was awesome.

We eventually bid Andy, Sara and Party good night and headed off to meet up with a couple of other friends at The Tea Station in Clairemont to get some Boba Team. That shit is the bomb man. We spent the rest of the evening talking and laughing and just having a great time.

This vacation has been so awesome so far, and it’s only the 3rd day. Can’t wait for the rest of the week.

  1. #1 by Sara on March 16, 2011 - 3:30 am

    You’re a funny man, Mike, I like you. That’s why I’m going to kill you last.

Leave a Reply

